Real Estate Taxes
Payments may be made at the Treasurer’s office, by mail and by phone.
Phone number (406) 377-3026.
Address to send payment:
Dawson County Treasurer
207 W Bell Street
Glendive MT 59330.
Failure to receive a property tax statement does not exempt the taxpayer from timely payment of the taxes due.
- First installment due - November 30th
- Second installment due - May 31st
Property tax bills are mailed in October of each year to the owner of record, as their name and mailing address appears on the tax roll. The tax roll is prepared and maintained by the State of Montana, Department of Revenue, Property Assessment Division.
If you have not received a tax statement by November 10th, please contact the Treasurer’s Office at 406-377-3026 or email to request a duplicate statement. Address changes should be directed to the Department of Revenue. (406) 377-4256.
Taxes on real estate may be paid in two installments, the first installment on or before November 30th of each year, the second installment on or before May 31st of the following year. If the first installment is not paid or postmarked on or before November 30th then the amount of this FIRST INSTALLMENT ONLY becomes delinquent.
If the second installment is not paid or postmarked on or before May 31st, then the amount of this SECOND INSTALLMENT ONLY becomes delinquent. When either installment becomes delinquent a penalty of 2% will be immediately added, along with interest at the rate of 5/6 of 1% per month from and after the delinquency until paid. BOTH INSTALLMENTS MAY BE PAID AT ONE TIME, on or before November 30th, if so desired. Click here to read the MCA for more information.
Your property may qualify for Property Tax Assistance Program, this may include: Property Tax Assistance Disable or Deceased Veteran’s Residential Exemption, the Extended Property Tax Assistance Program and/or Elderly Homeowner’s Tax Credit. Contact the Montana Department of Revenue at
(406) 377-4256 for further information.
Personal Property Taxes
- Due within 30 days after the notice is mailed.
Taxes on personal property are paid in one payment. The treasurer must within 30 days after the notice is mailed to the taxpayer, collect same by seizure and sale of property if tax is not paid. When a delinquency occurs a penalty of 2% will be immediately added, along with interest at the rate of 5/6 of 1% per month from and after the delinquency until paid.
Mobile Home Taxes
- First installment due - May 31st
- Second installment due - November 30th
If not paid or postmarked by 5 pm on the due date the tax becomes delinquent and a 2% penalty of 2% will be immediately added, along with interest at the rate of 5/6 of 1% per month from and after the delinquency until paid.
Cash, checks or credit cards accepted.
(credit cards are subject to a 4% convenience fee)
For Values of Property, Please Contact the Department of Revenue: